Day 34 HCG: It’s The Little Things

Leave a comment

July 18, 2012 by UtahMan&Wife

It really is “the little things” that can make the biggest difference in our lives. This is especially true on a weight-loss journey. An important part of any journey is to take time to look around and enjoy the scenery. We’ve been enjoying the “new view” we have after losing such a large percentage of fat!

~~~~~~

Utah Man

Starting Weight: 249.4 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 254.0 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 222.8 lbs
Today’s Weight: 222.2 – down -0.6 lb

Pre-load weight loss -27.2 lbs; post-load weight loss -31.8 lbs 

The little things that I have noticed;

1. I feel more rested in the morning. So, when I wake up, I am wide awake and not groggy.
2. I pretty much sleep through the night now (this was rare before).
3. I find myself not only craving healthy foods (that we can’t currently have) but also craving physical activity and exercise.

Cover of "Walking Tall"

4. My wedding ring band is loose on my ring finger.
5. I have better posture – I naturally walk taller and straighter.
6.I have noticed that my allergies have cleared up. I breathe more deeply
7. Wife’s skin seems even smoother and her hair is even shinier.
8. Wife says I’m not snoring any more. Well, guess what? She’s not snoring anymore either! (yes dear Wife, you do DID snore!)

ONLY 43 MORE DAYS UNTIL KICKOFF! GO UTES!!

~~~~~~

Utah Wife

Starting Weight: 187.2 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 192.8 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 172.0 lbs
Today’s Weight: 171.6 – down -1.0

Totals:  Pre-load weight loss 15.6 lbs  / Post-load loss -21.2 lbs

The “little things” for me:

1. I bought some red shoes last night. 🙂 I noticed I’ve shrunk a 1/2 size in my feet. Go figure.

2. My wedding ring band is VERY loose

Cool emoticon

3. Two students noticed this morning: “you’re looking really good!”, and “you’ve lost weight, huh!”

4. My (female) boss said, “I’ve noticed you’re losing weight and I think it’s wonderful! You’re looking so healthy! What are you doing?” I told her. She asked a lot of questions. Three times during the day she came and asked “But, I just don’t understand. How can you survive on 500 calories a day?” I’ve patiently re-explained each time that it’s only temporary and only because I am taking the hormone that releases another 3000 cals of fat into my bloodstream. No one should ever just eat 500 cals to try to lose weight without hCG! She finally said, “Well, it will be interesting to see if you can actually keep it off”. Hrmfp.

I wasn’t offended. She didn’t say it in a rude way. And, I have to agree with her. It’s my biggest concern at this point, too! If we can keep it off, then that will be the real clincher that this plan works.

5. UtahMan isn’t snoring any more! His infamous snoring used to keep me up at night and even wake me up. The kids could even hear him through the walls and would complain! Now, he just lays there and sleeps like a cute little baby. Awwww.

😉

Here’s the Little Things I need to work on:

  • Getting enough sleep! (5 or 6 hrs is NOT enough! This is my biggest nemesis)
  • Drinking more water
  • Picturing myself as a permanently slim, fit, athletic woman. . .size Small.

We’ve been thinking a lot the past 24 hours about the logistics of doing another round of hCG. UtahMan doesn’t want to do another round. I will probably end this round in the upper 160s (IF I can actually break through that dreaded barrier!). I’m 5’3″ tall (on my toes). I’ve set my high goal weight at the top of the range of 140, and my low goal as 125 (mid-range) due to my age. So, I know that reasonably I will still have to do 2-3 more rounds to reach those goals. That’s a lot of time investment. When you factor in that the transition time between each round must be extended longer each time in order to prevent building up an hCG resistance. It’s especially a long time for sedentary living. The biggest (really, only) concern I have with hCG is that although it works fantastically to get your body to release FAT, it does nothing to tone and build muscle, or allow you to have the important cardiovascular strengthening all of our bodies need. The hCG diet essentially encourages a sedentary lifestyle during the program. This is for a good reason. You’d pass out and/or screw up the fat burning process if you started burning a lot of calories. But, I miss working out. A lot. My body is sort of crying out for it right now. Now that I’ve lost so much fat the idea of exercise is not so repugnant. It’s so much easier to MOVE and BREATHE, for one thing!

If I follow protocol as I should (which of course I would) doing a 6 week transition of P3/P4 before starting on Round 2, then after my next 40 day round I would transition into P3 right before Thanksgiving & The Holiday Season, a.k.a. the “let’s-celebrate-life-by-endangering-our-health-pigging-out-on-junk-for-3-months” time of the year. Ugh!

English: July 2007 CrossFit Trainer certificat...

English: July 2007 CrossFit Trainer certification, Santa Cruz, CA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, I’m exploring all of my options. UtahMan and I are craving going back to our CrossFit box again. I’m also a fan of the Paleo lifestyle. We did it for 2 months last summer and became believers. It was just hard to maintain because it was such a foreign concept. However, now that we’ve been successfully weaned off sugar, grains, and dairy, the transition would be very simple and natural. So, I’m debating on whether this round of hCG will actually be my first and last round (at least for this year). If so, UtahMan and I would be able to return together to our CrossFit gym, eat Paleo together, and get in shape together before the holidays hit.

Decisions, decisions.

Your Turn!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and don't miss any of the excitement.

Join 26 other followers

Next Event

Race For Grief 10KMay 26th, 2014
RACE DAY!

Posts By Day

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Where Y’all From?

Locations of Site Visitors

Stats

  • 18,542 hits

Categories

