Day 27 HCG: It’s Christmas In July!

4

July 11, 2012 by UtahMan&Wife

If you have read any of our past posts then you know that we we are continually using random musical references that we like to imagine relate to our life. We are also two of “those kind of people” that get some dumb song stuck in our heads and then can’t resist trying to “infect” others.

So, guess what? You’re our next unlucky victim! *evil cackle*

But, don’t click outta here yet because this one actually relates to “change”, besides being a “blast from the past” for all you ladies and gents “of a certain age”. You might even enjoy humming it for the rest of the day. . .

The shunned red-nosed deer meets the shunned aspiring-dentist elf

Backstory: If you’re older than, say, 20-ish(?), you probably remember the anticipation of watching the annual Rankin/Bass Christmas TV specials with their 1960s ‘state of the art’ stop-motion animation. Such classics as RudolphThe Year without A Santa Claus, and Jack Frost, to name a few. There were even some lovely religious themed specials like The Little Drummer Boy, and Nester the Long-Eared Christmas Donkey [because believe-it-or-not kids, there used to be a time when Christmas TV shows were actually allowed to have Christian stories. *gasp* I know, how “un-PC”! Thank heaven goodness we’ve progressed, right?]

For good measure, R/B also threw in a couple Easter specials, such as Here Comes Peter Cottontail [no religious themes attempted]. But we digress. . .

Our personal “fave” Rankin/Bass song? “Mr. Heat Miser” of course! (Which has NOTHING whatsoever to do with Christmas. . . but who cares?)

Today’s song comes from the much-loved hit “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” featuring the legendary voice talents of Fred Astaire and Mickey Rooney, just to name a few (and if you don’t know who they are, we weep for you). At this point in the story, Kris Kringle has just confronted the “wicked” Old Man Winter who experienced a change of heart and now wants to be “good”, but doesn’t know how. Kringle fixes the problem in the only logical way for an animated special – with a song – called “Put One Foot In Front Of The Other“.

Now, indulge us a bit here – if you think about these lyrics, they really are quite cool (pun shamelessly intended) and they could apply to anything you’re trying to change, such as avoiding Walmart, or creating world peace, or even obtaining weight-loss nirvana [oops. .  . is that word PC?].

🙂

~~~~~

Other than the fact that this cheesy song will be stuck on torturous “repeat” inside your brain for the rest of the day [be honest now] how can you not love it? ♥

Just sayin’! 🙂

~~~~

UtahMan

Starting Weight: 249.4 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 254.0 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 229.0 lbs
Today’s Weight: 228.0 – down -1.0

Total Lost to date: -21.4 lbs from Start Weight / -26.0 lbs on VLCD

I had a business dilemma today.  My boss sent out an email and meeting invite for a departmental lunch – since we still had some extra funds in our departmental account for that purpose. They are going to bring food in next week from The Pie Pizzeria [the best pizza in Utah, and a legendary hang-out for all true Utah Ute Fans]. I can probably get away with not attending, but my absence would be noticeable. I don’t know if I can trust myself to attend!! I love pizza from The Pie and I am really craving pizza right about now .. I will probably just have to leave the building 😉

Only 50 More Days Until KICKOFF! GO UTES!!

~~~~~

Utah Wife

Starting Weight: 187.2 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 192.8 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 175.4 lbs
Today’s Weight: 174.9 – down -0.5

Totals: -13.5 lbs from Start Weight / -17.9 lbs on VLCD

I feel good. But, those annoying cravings can hit at any random moment. Take last night for instance. We went to Walmart (a fact I am loathe to admit) to get our bulk bag of Raw Stevia (because they do have the best price).

Walmart

Walmart (Photo credit: amitp)

However, the moment you walk into a Walmart your eyes and senses are instantly bombarded by Mind-numbing FOOD Marketing ( I use the term “food” here loosely). We were greeted by a giant mountain of coke boxes topped with a “man” created out of graham cracker boxes (I am not making this up, and I’m still baffled as to how the two relate. Is coke & grahams a new snack trend?). Every aisle in this placeis divided with piles and cartons of candy, chocolates, chips, “fruit roll-ups (aka, sugar with the word “fruit” in the title), and even an elephantine tub of ginger-snap cookies, [*sniff* I actually LOVE(d) Ginger-snap cookies],  marshmallows, crackers, and just about any other stuff-you-know-is-not-good-for-you-but-as-soon-as-you-see-it-will-start-watering-at-the-mouth-anyway (d*** you, evil sales marketers!!) At times like these I try to focus on the repeat customers wandering the aisles (you know the ones I mean) who unfailingly remind me exactly why I do not shop there regularly, and why I should run away as fast as possible.

Other than that little “episode”, I’m fine. Life is good. I’m down another half pound. Whoo Hoo! Merry Christmas!

4 thoughts on “Day 27 HCG: It’s Christmas In July!

  1. coalblaq says:

    Fantastic blog. My hubby and I plan to do this protocol as soon as the hCG arrives.

  2. Workout Music Diva says:

    Oh my goodness, you guys are just too funny for me! I remember those cheesy cartoons of yester-year and yes, I am now your next victim and will be hearing that song in my head for days (and I’m a musician so music REALLY gets stuck in my head!) And I love how millions of us “hate” Walmart for whatever our personal or political reason…but we still shop there anyway!

Your Turn!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and don't miss any of the excitement.

Join 27 other followers

Next Event

Race For Grief 10KMay 26th, 2014
RACE DAY!

Posts By Day

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Where Y’all From?

Locations of Site Visitors

Stats

  • 18,764 hits

Categories

