Day 25 HCG: Hungry For Those Good Things Baby

2

July 9, 2012 by UtahMan&Wife

Hunger is a very subjective experience. For example, when the two of us say we are “feeling so hungry” do we know what real hunger feels like? We’ve always had access to food. We’ve always had satisfied bellies, and comfortable circumstances. [Unless you count that one “camping trip from Hell” where all our food was infested by ants, and it rained until the tent fell down and we had to evacuate ourselves, two children and two dogs in the middle of the night during a frightening and dangerous lightning storm. . .]

. . .OK, no. That doesn’t count.

Author Michael Dorris wrote:

“Here are two facts that should not both be true:
1. There is sufficient food produced in the world every year to feed every human being on the planet.
2. Nearly 800 million people literally go hungry every day, with more than a third of the earth’s population — 2 billion men and women — malnourished one way or another, according to the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization.”

When you put it that way, we are not hungry. We have not ever been hungry. And, we will probably NEVER be hungry in the future. We are certainly not malnourished! Mark Bittman, author and health guru teaches that “1 billion people in the world are chronically hungry, and 1 billion people are overweight.” Are we seeing a “disparity” trend here? UtahMan and Wife live in that last billion category.  So, despite the cravings and the “hunger pains” and the uncomfortable-ness that goes with dieting, we’ve decided that experiencing a little taste of hunger now and then is probably pretty good for our souls.

“There are people in the world so hungry, that God cannot appear to them except in the form of bread.” – Mahatma Ghandi

Just some food for thought.

~~~~

UtahMan

Starting Weight: 249.4 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 254.0 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 230.8 lbs
Today’s Weight: 230.2 – Down -0.6

Total Lost to date: -19.2 lbs from Start Weight / -23.8 lbs on VLCD

The weekend was tough again for me. I have trouble drinking enough. The weight loss slows down, and my cravings kick into high gear. I have become much more aware lately of all the food advertisements – on TV, radio, print, computer, etc.  I never noticed before how MANY there are! Much of it doesn’t really look all that appetizing – but SOME of it does.
I have found that one has to just stay on plan, drink lots of water and the results keep coming. I’m down another notch on the belt. At this rate, I may soon have to wear one of the “skinny” belts in the back of my closet I haven’t been able to wear for years. I also have to say that I am proud of WIFE for sticking with it – even as she has had some yo-yoing issues with her scale weight lately; she still is averaging overall almost a pound per day of loss –which is much higher than average. GREAT JOB, WIFE!!!

ONLY 52 MORE DAYS UNTIL KICKOFF! GO UTES!!

~~~~

Utah Wife

Starting Weight: 187.2 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 192.8 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 176.7 lbs
Today’s Weight: 176.2 – Down -0.5

Totals: -12.2 lbs from Start Weight / -16.6 lbs on VLCD

I’ve been sort of “stuck” for awhile bouncing around the 176-178 range. I guess this is some sort of plateau. The protocol talks about the phenomenon that when you reach a certain weight your body used to be at for an extended period of time the body thinks “oh, yeah, I remember this. I’ll stay here”. I just need to be patient and wait it out and I should move on. If it continues a couple more days I’ll think of doing an “Apple Day”. But, I can’t really complain. On 21 days of eating VLCD I’m averaging a 0.8 oz loss per day! That’s well over the average of .5 for women. And, UtahMan has been so supportive! (Thanks, Sweetie) It’s much easier doing this as a team.

My biggest issue the past couple of days has been hunger. I’ve had cravings before. That’s common. Mentally I’m still trying to detach myself from all the junk and comfort foods that I’ve feasted on, and the regular habit of eating out at least once per week.

It’s hard to change habits, but it can certainly be done. I have rarely experienced any true hunger on the HCG, as the protocol promises. However, the past couple of days I’ve actually felt very hungry. It waxes and wanes like a roller coaster inside my stomach. I’m not sure yet what is causing it, or how to resolve it. My support group has given me several ideas. It could be female hormone fluxuation. It could be a need for a little more protein. It could be a need for more water. I hope to solve the mystery soon. In the meantime, I’m avoiding the office kitchen today where some evil soul has placed several boxes of donuts and bagels (CURSE THEM!)

We couldn’t help sharing this ridiculously fascinating vintage video of Paul Revere and The Raiders performing their hit song “HUNGRY”. Wow. Despite our best efforts, we just can’t seem to avert our eyes. 😛

2 thoughts on “Day 25 HCG: Hungry For Those Good Things Baby

  1. Workout Music Diva says:

    AMEN! to the food for thought.

Your Turn!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and don't miss any of the excitement.

Join 27 other followers

Next Event

Race For Grief 10KMay 26th, 2014
RACE DAY!

Posts By Day

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Where Y’all From?

Locations of Site Visitors

Stats

  • 18,764 hits

Categories

