Day 20 HCG: Independence Day

Leave a comment

July 4, 2012 by UtahMan&Wife

Today we celebrate the independence of our country, and the freedom to enjoy time off work to spend with our family and friends.  The two of us were worried that our diet would be compromised today, but in the end, everything went surprisingly smooth.

UtahMan

Starting Weight: 249.4 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 254.0 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 235.6 lbs
Today’s Weight: 233.7 – Down -1.1

Total Lost to date: -15.7 lbs from Start Weight / -20.3 lbs on VLCD

Our tradition every 4th of July is to spend time with my family in the park. We meet early in the morning at a particular pavillion for a big “hearty” breakfast. Then we visit, play games, or just sit and read books in lounge chairs and relax. The kids like to feed the ducks or go swimming in a nearby community pool. We stay together until lunch time when we eat another big meal, and say goodbye. We look forward to this time together to catch up on everyone’s busy lives, and for the cousins to laugh and play together. Mom & Dad will turn 80 this year. It’s hard to think of that. None of us think of them as “old”, but recently Mom’s health has taken a turn for the worse and she’s aged so quickly before our eyes. Today there seemed to be an unspoken concern in the air that this could actually be our last year for this special tradition with everyone present.

Only 57 More Days Until Kickoff! GO UTES!

~~~~

Utah Wife

Starting Weight: 187.2 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 192.8 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 179.4 lbs
Today’s Weight: 178.8 – Down -0.6

Total Lost To Date: -8.4 lbs from Start Weight / -14.0 lbs on VLCD

Today was our first big “family outing” since starting the HCG protocol and I was nervous. I had been assigned to bring the veggie tray for lunch and all of the fresh fruit for breakfast. That was a bit of a challenge since it not only involved a lot of chopping and prep work, it involved buying and preparing a lot of delicious veggies and fruit we cannot eat right now on P2. But, the good news was that I could ensure that we brought P2 friendly veggies and fruit.

🙂

I decided to make the chicken chop salad for the Man and I, since it is the most filling thing I’ve discovered so far that is also the easiest to make and eat. I worried a little that it would become a big deal to the rest of the family if they noticed we were not eating what everyone else was eating, but my worries were unfounded. Everyone was so busy serving and eating and talking that no one seemed to notice, and, if they did notice, they showed wonderful manners not to make an issue of it. Before we left the house, I made a Strawberry Spinach shake for my breakfast, which always fills me up for the entire morning, so I didn’t even have to worry about breakfast. But, I did eat a few extra strawberries on my plate at the picnic so it wasn’t too obvious I wasn’t actually “eating”. And, later in the day we ate our chopped salad and we didn’t have too much of a problem craving all the other food (although the salsa and chips sure looked good to me – but I wasn’t physically hungry).

A Fourth of July fireworks display at the Wash...

I feel really good today. I feel like my body has “turned a corner” and isn’t fighting me right now. I got 10 hours of sleep last night that was WONDERFUL, and I’ve stayed POP (perfect on plan) all day today, so I expect some good results from the scale tomorrow. (we’ll see) Either way, UtahMan and I feel happy and so very blessed. We have a loving family, a beautiful place to live, healthy bodies, and faith that God loves us. What more could we ask for?

***God bless us all, and God bless the USA! ***

Your Turn!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and don't miss any of the excitement.

Join 26 other followers

Next Event

Race For Grief 10KMay 26th, 2014
RACE DAY!

Posts By Day

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Where Y’all From?

Locations of Site Visitors

Stats

  • 18,542 hits

Categories

