Day 18 HCG: Monday Blues and Sad News

Leave a comment

July 2, 2012 by UtahMan&Wife

Today’s post isn’t as fun as we’d like, but sometimes life isn’t all fun and games. The noise of the crowd is hushed, and we are reminded how fragile life is.

UtahMan

Starting Weight: 249.4 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 254.0 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 236.3 lbs
Today’s Weight: 235.6 – Down -0.7

Total Lost to date: -13.8 lbs from Start Weight / -18.4 lbs VLCD

Today was hard. The lack of variety is starting to wear on me. The choices on P2 are very limited. There’s only so much you can really come up with. We got some fresh cherries and grapes in our weekly food co-op and they have been taunting me every time I open the fridge. We keep telling our 21 year old daughter to hurry up and eat them for us. I had a headache for most of the day. It was probably hunger since I had forgotten my drops. Eventually I drove all the way home in the middle of the day to get them.

~~~~

Utah Wife

Starting Weight: 187.2 lbs
Highest Load Weight: 192.8 lbs
Yesterday’s Weight: 179.8 lbs
Today’s Weight: 179.7 – Down -0.1

Total Lost To Date: -7.5 lbs from Start Weight / -13.1 lbs VLCD

Today was emotionally hard. The scale wasn’t my friend, but, that didn’t matter very long when I received the heartbreaking news that my long-time voice teacher, a dear mentor and sweet friend – legendary in the world of singing – passed away early this morning.

She was 93 years old, but so young at heart we always forgot her time with us was drawing short. She was still teaching, serving, laughing, loving, and changing lives right up until her final breath on earth. She was the kind of person we all want to be with, and we all aspire to become. BJ lived a long and magnificent life. She changed so many other’s lives for good across the world, that her spirit and influence will live for generations to come. I feel humbled and blessed to have spent so much time with her. I am happy when I think of her joyful reunion in heaven with her beloved husband. They were separated so many years. I truly believe that she is singing with an angel choir right now, and filling the universe with glorious music! But, it’s still hard to say goodbye.There’s a lump in my throat and a hole in my heart. I’m going to miss her deeply.

Obviously, I didn’t feel like eating today, or drinking, or doing much of anything except remembering my sweet BJ. Of course, that caught up to me by tonight. I came home dehydrated and hungry, as well as sad and tired.

Holding Hands shadow on sand

Photo credit: Wikipedia

Today I was reminded that life comes at us fast. We have so little time to make a difference in our world, to improve ourselves, and to treasure those that we love. We really do have to cherish every moment. Take time to say “I love you”, just because today. Take time to send a message to someone you haven’t seen in a long time. Take time to hug someone a little tighter tonight. Or, pause to say a little prayer for the one you can no longer hug. ♥

Your Turn!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and don't miss any of the excitement.

Join 26 other followers

Next Event

Race For Grief 10KMay 26th, 2014
RACE DAY!

Posts By Day

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Where Y’all From?

Locations of Site Visitors

Stats

  • 18,542 hits

Categories

