Day 6 HcG: It’s Easy Being Green

Leave a comment

June 20, 2012 by UtahMan&Wife

Today was the “morning of truth”. How much would we lose? Would we actually be able to say “goodbye” to the loading weight? Would we lose anything at all? . . .

Day 6 Stats

UtahMan

Starting Weight: 249.4
Yesterday’s Weight: 249.9
Today’s Weight: 247.6 – Lost -2.3

Wife

Starting Weight: 187.2
Yesterday’s Weight: 188.6
Today’s Weight: 186.3 – Lost -0.9

Image representing Woot as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

**Whoo Hoo! ** Happy Dance!** 🙂

~~~~~

UtahMan: All I have to say is that I found the first couple of days I didn’t have to eat anything until lunch and I would feel fine. But, today I got really hungry by about 10 am, so I ate my apple for my morning snack, and then I was fine the rest of the day. I’ve been drinking about 1 1/2 Gallons of water per day. For greater efficiency, I’m thinking of relocating my work station into the office restroom.

~~~~~

Wife: After yesterday’s vitamin debacle I was determined to put something into my stomach for breakfast besides herbal tea. Thanks to my new friend Carol, I decided to try out her famous Strawberry-Spinach Smoothie.

Although I admit it doesn’t sound particularly appetizing, it honestly tasted GREAT! It was the perfect start to my day. I didn’t have any nausea taking my pills & vitamins, and I didn’t get any cravings all morning. I enjoyed a lunch of chicken breast, 1 Wasa cracker, and fresh chard from my garden (Yes! I actually harvested and ate something I GREW! Woot! Woot!).

My Very Own Chard!

Later in the afternoon I put my apple slices in a covered Tupperware, drizzled them with fresh lemon juice, and sprinkled Cinnamon & Stevia on top. I microwaved for approx. 4 minutes on high, and it came out all hot & bubbly and tantalizing. It was DELICIOUS! (the yummy apple-pie smell filled the office and I saw co-workers craning their necks)

Not exactly the family photo I’d imagined!

After work today I went to my bi-weekly physical therapy session. Two months ago I seriously injured my ankle, and tore some tendons. I would love to say I did it skydiving, skiing, climbing a mountain, or performing a selfless act of heroism….but the fact is that I tripped over our cat, and then in an effort not to land on the darn thing, I twisted myself all out of shape, severely spraining my ankle and tearing some tendons for good measure. (Yep, it’s an incredibly lame, but completely true story). The down side of this injury, (besides hurting like He**, having my foot swollen to the size of a football, and being drugged up on pain pills) is that this happened to coincide just 6 days before our big family vacation to Disneyland (which had taken us 5 years of planning and saving)! The “up” side was that I got to sit in a wheelchair for 4 days while UtahMan pushed me all around “the Happiest Place On Earth“. Also, with my new “handicapped” status our entire family got onto all of the rides without having to wait in line! (score)

“Hey Wife, this is totally awesome! Thanks for hurting yourself! Maybe you could do it again, next time!”

Anything for the team.

It ended up being a painful and annoyingly long recovery. I’m finally starting to get my strength back. This week I haven’t had any pain walking up or down stairs. Due to my new improvement, the PT worked me hard (“PT stands for Pain & Torture, didn’t you know?”). To start, he put me on the Elliptical machine to “loosen” me up. He left me on there for 10 minutes on an incline, and I kept noticing the digital display of all the calories I was burning. Normally that would be a good thing, right? But since I’m only eating 500 cal per day, and Dr. Simeons cautions that while on Phase 2 we do minimal exercise, I didn’t want to overdo it! By the time I got off, I’d burned around 110 cal. and that was just the first 10 minutes of an hr. long session!I did a bunch of other exercises, stretches, flexing, some deep tissue massage, and ended off with the “Ice Boot” to help ease the swelling from my workout. It honestly felt great to be moving again and to see how much stronger my ankle has gotten. My PT spent a lot of time encouraging me to keep moving and exercising more. He even outlined workouts for me, and a step-by-step plan to get me ready to return to my CrossFit gym. Um, no… I didn’t mention I was doing the HcG protocol, and I didn’t have the heart to tell him I won’t be able to follow all of his great suggestions or return to CrossFit just yet. I decided that when I see him in 2 weeks and I’ve lost more weight (hopefully) he will be pleased with my “great progress”.

Meet our extremely cute and happy dog Joey who got a nice long walk tonight (and those are my daughter’s cute legs)

Later tonight our dog Joey was dying to go on a walk and UtahMan was out, so I put on my gym shoes (again) and persuaded my daughter to join us. Although I had planned to only go around the block for 10 minutes, it ended up being such a beautiful summer evening. All that fresh air, perfect weather, the smell of freshly mowed lawns, a stunning sunset, chatting with my daughter…I couldn’t resist. Before I knew it, our “10 minute walk” had turned into 30…or 40. It will be interesting to see if all this activity effects my progress (pro, con, nada..?). – UM&W

Only 71 Days Until Kickoff! GO UTES!

Your Turn!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and don't miss any of the excitement.

Join 27 other followers

Next Event

Race For Grief 10KMay 26th, 2014
RACE DAY!

Posts By Day

June 2012
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Where Y’all From?

Locations of Site Visitors

Stats

  • 18,764 hits

Categories

